SOME THINGS REALLY ARE JUST TOO IMPORTANT

You know when you hear a song and every single lyric means so much because that is exactly how you feel. It’s exasperating. And you try to turn back time but it won’t. You have to look forward and focus on what you can do next, but what if there isn’t anything else you can do. What do you do then? How do you focus on what is essentially nothing? Obviously there are things you could focus on, but if that’s not what you want then why should you? I’m under the illusion that you should have a goal and go for it no matter what. Yeah, sometimes you will get struck down and rejected but if you never try, you’ll never know, right? If you know that something is out there that you want, go grab it. Don’t just sit there and let it slip away, and if it doesn’t work out first time then don’t give up. If you give up, you can’t want it that badly.

From my window, I watch an old man go to his shed every day; back and forth, back and forth. And I always wonder what is in there that is so interesting? But now, I’ve just realised that it doesn’t matter what is in there. It’s just the fact that he makes that trip every day several times and therefore, it must be something he loves. He goes in there to check something or to do something every day! Now, I wonder how many of those days he’s woken up and not felt like venturing out into the cold. I would estimate at about half? But still he persists. What if he didn’t go one day? What if he thought that it wasn’t worth it and just realised he couldn’t do it anymore… that plant or whatever it is would die or start to wither and he would regret it. Good things take time and dedication. If you really need something in your life, work hard at it and it will appreciate you in the end. You will receive your reward.

Last night, I watched the hollyoaks catch up and Steph (a young woman with terminal cancer) died in a fire. She chose to die there and then because she was tired of fighting. It is times like these that make you realise that life won’t go on forever. You need to make your intentions clear in life and that’s what I’ve done, I only wish others would. Who knows what might happen tomorrow. It’s not something I want to think about but what if one of our lives was to end, would they actually realise what they meant to me? I don’t want life to pass me by because, despite the cliche, life is way too short. I’ve got goals and things I want in life, am I wrong to go and fight for them? Despite what others say, some things really are too important to just push aside.

Leave a comment